After Trebek died of pancreatic cancer at the age of 80 last November, the show began looking for its new host. Last season, guests have hosts like Katie Couric, Aaron Rodgers, invoice Whitaker, Anderson Cooper, Savannah Guthrie, Sanjay Gupta, Take Burton, George Stephanopoulos, Robin Roberts, Joe Buck, Dr. Mehmet Oz, Buzzy Cohen and David Faber took turns at the gig. Richards performed between the last week of February and the first week of March, and Bialik performed the tasks in late May and early June.

“We took this decision incredibly seriously”, Ravi Ahuja, Chairman of Global Television Studios and Corporate Development for Sony Pictures, said in the press release. “There is an unbelievable amount of work and thought involved, perhaps more than ever in the selection of the moderators for a show – and rightly so, because it is Jeopardy! and we follow the incomparable Alex Trebek. A senior group of Sony Pictures Television executives reviewed footage of each episode, reviewed research from multiple panels and focus groups, and received valuable input from our key partners and Jeopardy! Viewers. “

Ahuja also said the team “knew early on” that they wanted to “split up hosting responsibilities”, noting that “it became very clear that Mike and Mayim were the undeniable choices”.

“They were both at the forefront of our research and analysis,” he continued. “Mike is a unique talent who feels comfortable behind the podium and a double threat as a producer and presenter. Mayim has wonderful energy, an innate sense of the game and an authentic curiosity, which of course the Jeopardy brand! represents. We look forward to working with both of them and are confident that they will carry on the legacy of this iconic show. ”