Passengers arrive on a flight from London under new restrictions to prevent the spread of coronavirus disease (COVID-19) at JFK International Airport in New York on December 21, 2020.

Eduardo Munoz | Reuters

President Joe Biden on Monday banned most non-US citizens arriving from South Africa from entering the US and increased travel restrictions to Europe, the UK and Brazil to curb the spread of Covid-19, especially as new strains of the Coronavirus are identified.

The measures reported by CNBC on Sunday come because more contagious strains of the virus have spread.

Former President Donald Trump last week lifted entry bans for most non-US citizens who had been to the UK, Brazil or many countries in Europe. However, the spokeswoman for then-elected President Biden said the new administration would quickly reverse this move.

Trump’s decision to repeal the rules should go into effect Tuesday if the US requires US travelers to present a recent negative Covid test result before flying to the US.

American airlines had asked the Trump administration to replace travel bans with Covid test requirements.